Having the Mind of Selfessness

Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interest of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though He was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made Himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. – Philippians 23-7

There was a time, a few years ago, when I would read the second chapter of Philippians almost everyday. I also encouraged others to read this everyday, first thing in the morning, to always have the humility of Jesus fresh in our minds and hearts. It’s been a while since I’ve read this, although today I opened my Bible back to this passage and began to prayerfully think it over.

Billboards and commercials tell me everyday that it’s all about me. That I should do this for myself and that for myself and I can live a happy life. Well, they’re wrong. This mindset they’re trying to sell me is poisonous and it’s an epidemic in much of our society. The truth is that I’m not good enough and these cars, meals, vacations and all the other deals of the day can’t change that fact.If my life is spent serving and working for myself then I will die regretting every day that I lived.

So how do we keep from living a self-centered life? Only by Christ living in and through us. Paul states in 1 Corinthians 2:16 that we have the mind of Christ. In his letter to Philippians, Paul says to have this mind of selflessness, of seeing others as better than ourselves. He also states that this mind is ours in Christ Jesus. As with everything else in this Christian life, we have nothing apart from Christ. He is our example and our life source. We follow His lead because of His life that He brings us into.

This life of of seeing others as more important than ourselves can really be a battle in a world that’s always looking out for “number one.” But be encouraged, knowing that it’s not impossible if we are in Christ, because we have His mind and His mind is humble.

Leave a Reply

