What does your church life look like?

The body of Christ is one of the most diverse groups of people that I can think of. We all have different talents, occupations, interests and are spread out all over the world.

We’re even diverse in the ways that we gather with each other to pray, study and build one another up in Christ.

Some attend weekly services, some lead small groups, others meet in a home and share regular meals together.However, many of you may not be a part of any type of church life….maybe you don’t even consider yourself a Christian but still find yourself checking out the posts on this site. Church life or no Church life, I would love to hear from you.

I’m curious to see how diverse the readers of this blog are. With no judgements or hatefulness I would like to hear from all of you in the comments section about what your “church life” is like.

Please, no negative comments or bashing of each other’s views and beliefs. We’re part of one body, regardless of how that body life is lived out.

So, what does your church life look like? Please respond below in the comments section 🙂

7 thoughts on “What does your church life look like?

  1. I am part of an anabaptist church that meets in a traditional setting. While much of the criticisim about instutional churches does apply, they are verry good at recognizing that some of us among them coloring outside of the lines.

    I also lead a gathering in my home every week. We share a meal & talk about life. Then we move into a time of study. I typicaly lead the discussions but I try to listen more than I talk & most everyone speaks up. We also garden together and share the produce arround our neighborhood. Some of the folks that gather with us call it a house church others a small group, my wife and I just call it church.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Quincy Zikmund, Quincy Zikmund. Quincy Zikmund said: If you read my blog, I want to hear from you today here http://ow.ly/3YdKx […]

  3. DM says:

    just came across your blog and saw this post. Grew up attending a main line denomination, met wife, became a Christian, spent the next 25 yrs in various church settings. currently involved in a very small house church (most weeks there are only 4 of us) continues to be the most edifying, practical, spiritually stimulating experience of all. I”ve read lots of books on church planting, discipleship, etc. so I know what the experts say a healthy church should look like. All I can say is Jesus shows up week after week and no two weeks are every quite the same.

  4. quincyzikmund says:

    Thanks so much for the responses. After a while of the Lord getting me over some things I finally realized how real the fact of the body of Christ as one family is. Regardless of how we walk it out or if we have even ever met another brother or sister in Christ, we’re one body. Thanks again guys, I really enjoyed reading your responses and getting a glimpse into where Christ has you.

  5. […] In case you missed it, I asked the readers of this blog, including yourself, to share with me what your Church life is like. You can read the original post here: What does your church life look like? […]

  6. traviskolder says:

    I’m part of a house church that started several years ago. We have a set time where we gather, eat, read the bible, pray and worship, etc. But as we go, our church life is becoming more than just a Sunday morning (or Tuesday night, or whatever time you get together…) deal. Several times a week different men get together to encourage and disciple one another, same with the ladies. Several of the moms are stay at home moms, so their lives and the lives of our kids cross paths pretty regularly. I guess I would say we have a somewhat formal gathering time…but we have a very organic, relational intersect that keeps us from becoming to routine. As I write this, I’ve just finished gathering this morning with believers where a very participatory biblical teaching happened, my wife is out shopping with one of the other ladies in our church, and a brother from church is planning on coming over for dinner tonight. It’s certainly not perfect, but it’s been useful for us to be built up into Christ’s likeness.

  7. Joe says:

    Hi Quincy, I’m happy to comment on this post.

    My wife and I meet together with the church in Cypress (California, not Mediterranean:). It’s based on the New Testament principle of one church in each city.

    This is the same as the apostle Paul addressing the book of Philippians to “the saints in Christ Jesus who are in Philippi” (Phil. 1:1), Ephesians to “the saints who are in Ephesus and are faithful in Christ Jesus” (Eph. 1:1), 1 Corinthians to “the church of God which is in Corinth” (1 Cor. 1:2), and the Spirit’s speaking in Revelation 2 and 3 to the seven churches in Asia—the church in Ephesus, the church in Smyrna, the church in Pergamos, the church in Thyatira, the church in Sardis, the church in Philadelphia, and the church in Laodicea.

    As such, we meet as the believers in the city of Cypress who care for the Lord’s testimony to be expressed, are open to fellowship with all believers, and whose goal is to build up the Body of Christ to bring the Lord back.

    So what does this look like?

    It looks like believers living in harmony (Psa. 133), maintaining the oneness of the Body of Christ (Eph. 4:4), continuing steadfastly with one accord (Acts 2:46), and fellowshipping together day by day and house to house (Acts 2:46).

    There’s more I could say, but I’ll save it for later. Let me know if you have any questions (here or through Twitter or e-mail). Much grace to you.

    Joe

Leave a Reply

