My experience reading The Normal Christian Life by Watchman Nee

So this is the first blog I’ve posted since last week, and it’s a
short one. However, this post will be leading right into the blog that I will be writing tomorrow.

This is not a full book review. It is simply a brief synopsis of my experience with this book.

A couple years ago a friend told me about this little book called The Normal Christian Life by a man named Watchman Nee. I found things that my friend was saying to be very interesting, much deeper than things I’ve read and teachings I had heard in the past. After a short time I went to a local bookstore to find this book that seemed to have so much truth in it. Sure enough the bookstore had it, and it was even really cheap. So I started reading The Normal Christian Life for the very first time. I was amazed at how difficult it was for me to understand what Watchman Nee was talking about. I’ve never had to read a book so slow, read such small pieces at a time or re-read so many pages and chapters, every page was like a new revelation. I carried this book with me everywhere I went for about a year. If I had my Bible with me, sure enough that little book was with me as well. So after about a year of reading, thinking, meditating and talking about the teachings contained in this book I finished reading it, and have since then read various sections of it over and over. When I step back and look at the truths contained in The Normal Christian Life I realize that they are basic Christian truths, at least they should be. Points such as our death in Christ, our new life in Him and the fact that we can’t please God so we should stop trying should all be very elementary in the Church, but yet I had a hard time understanding them at first, even after growing up around Christianity nearly my entire life. The Normal Christian Life is a book that I recommend to every Christ follower, no matter their background, doctrines, church practice, age or even their denomination.

I’m telling you all of this because I be posting another blog tomorrow about one of the truths I learned from reading this book that completely changed my life and view on a lot of things. It was a truth that set me on a long journey which I am still on. What I’m going to share tomorrow is something that I believe should be one of the foundational pieces of truth for beginning this lifelong journey toward Christ and in Christ. I suspect that tomorrow’s post will be pretty long, longer than usual, so please feel free print it out and continue reading or simply keep coming back to pick up where you left off. I won’t be posting any other blogs after tomorrow’s until next week.

7 thoughts on “My experience reading The Normal Christian Life by Watchman Nee

  1. josephwesley says:

    Quincy,

    I really like this post, and I don’t know any other book that has affected more Christians more positively than this book. If you’d like more material by Watchman Nee, you can check it out here — http://ministrybooks.org/collected-works.cfm. Thanks again for the post. I’ll be checking back to read the next one.

    Joseph

    • quincyzikmund says:

      Thank you very much for getting involved. I’m sorry for the hold up on the next post, it will be up today for sure.

  2. Liz Zikmund says:

    Hurry up and post the next part! I know you were busy with work but I’m excited to read it.
    Love you, The Wife!

  3. carriemeghan says:

    Quincy,

    My dear friend (“josephwesley”) directed me to your blog, and I must say that I am equally encouraged and impressed by your experience reading through The Normal Christian Life. I, personally, was also quite affected by this book the first time I read it. (Actually, I’ve read it multiple times since then, and each time the Lord is able to shine more light on the truths from the Word brought out by Watchman Nee.) After reading the first few chapters, specifically on the blood and the cross, I wondered how, as a Christian, I could have gone on without this kind of help in understanding the deeper truths of such fundamental items.

    Anyway, like Joe, I also look forward to reading more!

    – Meghan –

    • quincyzikmund says:

      Meghan,
      Thank you very much. And you’re absolutely right, I don’t know that I would have been able to go on without the understanding of the truths Watchman Nee laid out. What’s crazy to me is that what Watchman Nee teaches in the book is (or at least should be) very basic foundations for building our Christian life in Christ. It’s sad that so much of the Church’s teaching is so watered down and full of half truths. But I’m thankful that God has blessed me all the brothers and sisters my wife and I have and all the resources He’s put in our path.

  4. […] My experience reading The Normal Christian Life by
    Watchman Nee September 20106 comments and 1 Like on WordPress.com,
    3 […]

Leave a Reply

