Our tendancy to plan and the active, living God

I’ve recently better understood God’s current activity in my life and others around me. We have a tendency, because of our “plan everything” culture to be obsessed with the future. Of course, the future is important, but the Holy Spirit is active now, He’s doing more than writing up a calendar of future plans.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve said “I just need direction from God” or “I don’t know where God wants me to go”. I’ve spent so much time, energy, worry and prayer trying to figure things out and trying to know everything that the future holds. I, along with many other believers I’m sure, can easily overlook what God is doing now.

We have to sit in Christ before we walk things out and move.

Sometimes God wants us to simply walk in Christ and live this life out by His power without “doing things” in the way define it.

At all times, God wants us to rely on and be completely dependent upon him.

The God of the universe who is outside of time knows our future. He knows the plans that He is going to accomplish through us and He knows where we will end up. It’s not for us to worry and stress about. I’m speaking to myself with all of these words because I tend to do just the opposite. I tend to think about the future a lot and have a discontentment of where my wife and I are. At the same time, I also don’t act on these thoughts, by God’s grace I’m always able to be brought to Christ and my heart finds rest. Now, I believe discontentment is good thing, but it’s possible to have too much of a good thing. We can’t be so distraught that we live as if Christ isn’t in us or as if He isn’t the one living. This is a place we can get to only by learning Christ more and more and by encouraging each other as brothers and sisters in life together; by centering all things around Christ and participating in the eternal purpose of God.

I’d love for you to share your thoughts and what God has taught you in this area. I know that I don’t I don’t get too much traffic on this site, but I do know that there is some, I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

