Learning Christ’s love and forgiveness from our pug.

So our pug, Murphie, is pretty awesome. She’s really probably the coolest dog I’ve ever known and the only dog I’ve ever had. It’s crazy how much personality this little dog has. She knows when she’s in trouble and she knows when Liz or I are bummed and acts accordingly. I never thought that God could reveal Himself to me though interacting with our pet, but he has and continues to.

This morning I was thinking about what happens when Murphie gets in trouble. Whether she’s simply not listening to us or she’s pulling all the toilet paper off the roll, she gets in trouble. The beautiful thing about that though is no matter what she does, no matter how “bad” what she did was, we can’t stay mad at her. Yes, we discipline her and try to make her understand what she did was wrong, but after that we pick her up and tell her that we know she really is a good girl,  give her a kiss and tell her how much we love her. This is a picture of what our Father in Heaven does for us everyday, a glimpse into how He loves us.

God disciplines us, He allows junk to happen to us that will grow us and cause us to rely on Him more and more. If we screw up He lovingly chastises us and shows us where we went wrong, then He tells us who we really are in Him, gives us a kiss and tells us He loves us. This is beautiful to me. I’m blown away by how much Christ loves us. He loves me more than I can love our pug, with the purest love there is. But yet He chooses to reveal Himself to us through what’s around us, He shows us the perfect through the imperfect.

I’m simply amazed.

3 thoughts on “Learning Christ’s love and forgiveness from our pug.

  1. Very true! Our pugs winston and sam are the same. I got into animal rights and rescue because of their love and inspiration. They truly make us better people…

  2. Very true! Our pugs winston and sam are the same. I got into animal rights and rescue because of their love and inspiration. They truly make us better people…
    We love tweeting with murphie. She constantly puts a smile on our faces!

Leave a Reply

