The most difficult leg of our journey so far

Well over a year ago, maybe even two two years ago, I began a journey. Over a year ago marriage became part of my journey and it was no longer just my own, but it now became my wife’s journey as well. It all started when I began feeling a discontent with the current state of the Church, both the one I was a part of and even the universal way of doing church. It began with a simple statement…”There has to be more to church life than this.”

I’m sure you know this story well, we started testing and questioning everything we were accustomed to, something that was a huge part of my life for as long as I can remember. We read books about other ways “doing church”, we read the New Testament a lot, we read blogs and we had long (many times negative) talks about the church over coffee. Around this time, God gave us a glimpse of organic church life and a fresh revelation of Christ as the Head of the church and center of all things, and since then we have seen many glimpses of Christ, His eternal purpose, and authentic community. He has changed our hearts and attitudes toward our brothers and sisters and their thoughts, beliefs and practices.

And with all that God has shown us and done, I feel like we are staggering in our building up of one another. I feel like when we’re together we are unfocused. Well, we’re focused, but not on Christ, lifting Him up, or growing into Him with each other. So here we arrive at the most difficult part of our journey. We struggle to keep from being “religious” and trying to make things happen in our own power because we only want Christ and what He wants to do, and then we forget that Christ dwells in us, is active and living, and it’s His will for us to grow up into Him with each other, therefore we’re not intentional in glorifying Christ together but we wait around for something to happen. Are we afraid to share Christ with one another and therefore forsake one of our highest calls because we’re too scared to make mistakes? Do we really have that little faith in a Lord that dwells inside of us?

I don’t want this to be condemning whatsoever, either for my wife and I or our brothers and sisters in Christ whom we love. What I want is to step out in faith and forsake whatever junk is in me that is keeping us from growing and seeing Christ together in greater ways. I am extremely stoked about Christ and His body. I am stoked and blessed to have an amazing wife/best friend who is in love with Jesus and amazing friends who so are loving and beneficial to my life in Christ. Thank you Jesus for the world and surroundings that you have placed me in, even if I sometimes get annoyed by our situations.

One thought on “The most difficult leg of our journey so far

  1. Mitch says:

    I love you buddy.

Leave a Reply

